Skip to content
Comparison

MyPregnancy vs Count the Kicks

Count the Kicks is a free kick counter from a nonprofit stillbirth-prevention program, with a contraction timer and an Apple Watch app. It is built for the third trimester.

Count the Kicks facts were read from its App Store listing and Healthy Birth Day, Inc.’s own pages on . Apps change, so check the listings before you decide.

MyPregnancy

Free to download. Plus: $29.99 a year, $14.99 for 3 months, $6.99 a month. No free trial.

iPhone with iOS 26 or later, and Apple Watch. New, so no App Store rating yet.

Count the Kicks

Free, with no in-app purchases. Run by Healthy Birth Day, Inc., a nonprofit.

4.8 from 8,599 ratings on the US App Store. Needs iOS 16.1 or later. Last updated Oct 22, 2026.

MyPregnancy and Count the Kicks, feature by feature
FeatureMyPregnancyCount the Kicks
Contraction timerYes: FreeYes: Free
Kick counterYes: FreeYes: Free, with twins and reminders
Apple Watch appYes: Free
Baby’s size by weekYes: FreeNot stated
Hospital bag checklistYes: FreeNot stated
Birth planYes: FreeNot stated
Share with a partnerNot stated
Articles that cite their sourcesYes: Every article lists its sourcesNot stated: Daily messages and an AI assistant
Community or forumNoNot stated
No adsYesYes: Neither store labels ads
Use it without signing upYes: Starts without an accountPartly: Optional; keeps 5 sessions without one
AndroidNoYes
iPhones before iOS 26No: Needs iOS 26Yes: iOS 16.1 or later

Where Count the Kicks is better

  • Free in full, run by a nonprofit: kick counter, contraction timer, Apple Watch app and a data download for your provider. In MyPregnancy the Watch app and the PDF for the midwife are part of Plus.
  • Backed by a stillbirth-prevention program with published research and printed materials for providers.
  • An Android app, support back to iOS 16.1, counting for twins, and scanning of paper kick charts.

Where MyPregnancy is better

  • The whole pregnancy, not only the third trimester: your baby’s size each week, a hospital bag, a birth plan and articles. Count the Kicks’ listing names none of them.
  • Every session kept without an account. Without one, Count the Kicks shows only your five most recent sessions.
  • A partner invite, with Plus. Count the Kicks’ listing does not describe sharing with a partner.

Who each one suits

Count the Kicks: Parents in the third trimester who want a free, research-backed kick counter, including on Apple Watch.

MyPregnancy: Someone who wants the kick counter inside a pregnancy app that also covers labor and the weeks before it.

The short answer

For a kick counter alone, Count the Kicks is free in full, backed by research and hard to beat. MyPregnancy is for someone who wants the counter inside a pregnancy app that also covers labor and the weeks before it.

Facts about MyPregnancy are from its pricing page. MyPregnancy records and measures; neither app replaces your midwife or doctor.

Sources

  1. Count the Kicks: App Store listing data (iTunes Lookup API)
  2. Count the Kicks on the US App Store
  3. Count the Kicks — the app
  4. Count the Kicks — FAQ
  5. Count the Kicks on Google Play
  6. Count the Kicks: recent US App Store reviews

Checked .

Try MyPregnancy

The contraction timer, kick counter, hospital bag and birth plan are free. Or try the timer here first, in your browser.